All Articles

Christopher J. Seeger, Cass Dorius, Shawn Dorius, Heike Hofmann, Adisak Sukul & Todd Abraham

Author: Heather Sauer | Image: Heather Sauer

On March 9, the Data Science for the Public Good Young Scholars Program team led by Christopher J. Seeger, professor of landscape architecture and extension landscape architect, received the 2021 ISU Extension and Outreach Excellence in Research-Based Programming Award at the ISU Extension and Outreach Annual Conference.

The team included Cass Dorius, associate professor of human development and family studies; Shawn Dorius, associate professor of sociology; Heike Hofmann, professor of statistics and professor in charge of data science; Adisak Sukul, associate teaching professor in computer science; and Todd Abraham, assistant director of data and analytics with the Iowa Integrated Data System.

They were recognized for engaging students, community leaders and extension professionals in real-world projects that benefit communities while increasing data awareness, literacy and technical capacity. The team was commended for adapting its efforts to the pandemic, as students worked virtually with Iowa clients to identify and prioritize data related to economic mobility, alcohol prevention efforts, substance use and systems-of-care infrastructure and extension community helpline services.