College of Design Dashboard
CoD Dashboard
Announcements

last 7 days

  • Octagon Art Festival applications due June 30
  • June 17, 2019

    The Octagon Center for the Arts is accepting applications to participate in the 49th Octagon Art Festival from 10 a.m.–4 p.m. Sunday, Sept. 22, in downtown Ames. Artists 18 and older may apply to exhibit original work in fine art or fine craft for a $20 nonrefundable jury fee. A panel of three jurors also will perform on-site judging for cash purchase awards on the day of the festival; three honorable mentions of $100 each and one Best of Show of $150 will be presented to the winning artists. Apply online by Sunday, June 30.

[see all announcements]

Upcoming Events

Next 14 days

Tuesday 06/25/19
  • Summer Orientation Day 1
  • 12:30 pm

    Learn about what courses you will take, meet advisers, department chairs and faculty, attend a session to find out more about your specific major, and tour the college.

    12:30 –1:00 p.m. Check-in
    1:00 – 1:30 p.m. University Welcome
    1:30 – 2:15 p.m. Academic College of Design Overview
    2:15 – 3:00 p.m. Major Program Overview
    3:00 – 3:30 p.m. Reception
    3:30 – 4:00 p.m. Day in the Life
    4:10 p.m. College of Design Tour

Wednesday 06/26/19
  • Summer Orientation Day 2
  • 08:00 am

    Meet with your adviser, and register for fall classes!

[see all events]

CoD Deadlines
Monday 07/01/19
  • Departmental responsibility statements for Percent of Term faculty teaching efforts due to dean
Friday 07/12/19
  • S20 Course Offerings Due to Registrar
  • Deadline for Fall 2019 course cancellations due to low enrollment
Friday 07/26/19
  • Beginning class lists for Fall 2019 available on AccesPlus
Thursday 08/01/19
  • College Responsibility Statements for % of Term Fac Teaching Efforts (CRS) due from colleges to Senior Vice President and Provost
Monday 08/26/19
  • Course fee worksheets distributed to chairs
Wednesday 09/04/19
  • Course fee worksheets for S20 distributed to dept. chairs
Friday 09/06/19
  • Final dollar amounts of variable course fees for F20 field trips due to Dept. Adm. Spec.
Tuesday 09/10/19
  • SS20 original course offerings (gray sheets) distributed
Friday 09/13/19
  • SS20 Study Abroad proposal due to AAC
  • Course fee worksheets for S20 due from faculty to dept. chairs
  • Faculty Professional Development Assignment (FPDA) proposals due from departments to dean's office
Sunday 09/15/19
  • New Faculty Mentoring information due from departments to SVPP with copies to dean's office
Tuesday 09/17/19
  • Final confirmation of S20 teaching assignments due to Linda and Jean and Mandy
Thursday 09/19/19
  • S20 experimental course proposals along with college course fee worksheets due to AAC
Friday 09/20/19
  • Course fee worksheets due from dept. chairs to Dept. Adm. Specialists
Monday 09/23/19
  • Departments begin approval process for SS20 experimental courses.
Thursday 09/26/19
  • Changes to degree programs and front of catalog ready for AAC review
Friday 09/27/19
  • All S20 teaching assignments should be in ADIN
  • Last date to submit changes to S20 courses and rooms to Linda and Jean and Mandy before registration begins
Sunday 09/29/19
  • S20 experimental courses approved by AAC due to Registrar
Monday 09/30/19
  • S20 Option Studio descriptions due to Associate Dean for Academic Programs
  • SS20 study abroad proposals approved by AAC due to Education Abroad Committee
  • Last day to process special course fees authorizations for S20 through Access Plus
  • Final deadline for submitting approved new experimental courses for S20 through CIMX.
Thursday 10/03/19
  • Departments begin approval process for F19 experimental courses
Wednesday 10/09/19
  • Foreign Travel Grant applications due from departments to dean's office
  • S20 Option Studios presented to students @ 6:00 pm in 101 Design (reserved)
Monday 10/14/19
  • F20 original course offerings (gray sheets) distributed
  • Corrected SS20 gray sheets due to Linda and Jean
  • College councils must make their appointments to college committtees
Tuesday 10/15/19
  • FPDA proposals for next year and final reports from last year due from dean to Office of SVP
  • Promotion and tenure dossiers with departmental recommendations due to dean’s office
Wednesday 10/16/19
  • S20 course registration begins
Friday 10/18/19
  • Foreign Travel Grants due from dean to Faculty Senate office @ noon
  • Big 12 Faculty Fellowship Program Applications due to Office of SVP and Provost at Noon
Monday 10/21/19
  • Last day to change S20 courses with Registrar before registration
Monday 10/28/19
  • Masthead and front of catalog changes approved by college due to Dean's Office
Wednesday 10/30/19
  • SS20 course offerings due from departments to dean's office, Registrar and Room Scheduling.
Thursday 10/31/19
  • F19 study abroad proposals due to AAC
Friday 11/01/19
  • Corrected F19 gray sheets due to Linda and Jean and Mandy
Monday 11/04/19
  • Preliminary room assignments for S20 distributed from Room Scheduling
Friday 11/08/19
  • Changes to preliminary S20 room assignments due to Linda and Jean
Friday 11/15/19
  • Final SS20 course schedules with faculty and room requests due to Linda and Jean who will update D-Trak
Wednesday 11/20/19
  • Preliminary room assignments for S20, with changes, due back to Room Scheduling from departments @ 4 p.m.
Saturday 11/30/19
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Advancing One Community awards nominations due to Office of SVP and Provost
Monday 12/02/19
  • Last day to cancel S20 courses due to low enrollment by Noon.
  • F20 course offerings due from departments to dean's office, Registrar, and Room Scheduling at noon.
Monday 12/09/19
  • Miller Faculty Fellowship proposals due to dean's office and to CELT Associate Director
Friday 12/13/19
  • College of Design Awards nominations due to dean's office
  • Nomination from faculty for honorary degrees due to Committee for Honorary Degrees
  • University award nominations due from departments to dean's office
  • Promotion and Tenure dossiers with Faculty Development Council recommendations due to dean
Sunday 12/15/19
  • Professional development funding for Term Faculty application due to SVPP Office.
Thursday 12/19/19
  • SS20 schedule of classes changes from proof copy due to Registrar
Monday 12/30/19
  • F19 study abroad proposal approved by AAC due to Education Abroad Committee
Friday 01/10/20
  • Final F19 course schedules with faculty and room requests due to Linda and Jean and Mandy who will update D-Trak
Tuesday 01/14/20
  • Course fee worksheets for SS20 and F19 distributed to dept. chairs
Thursday 01/16/20
  • Promotion and tenure dossiers with college recommendation due to SVP and Provost
Wednesday 01/22/20
  • Foreign Travel Grant applications due from departments to dean's office
Thursday 01/30/20
  • Changes to back of catalog
  • S20 and F19 experimental course proposals along with college course fee worksheets due to AAC
Friday 01/31/20
  • Big 12 Faculty Fellowship Program Applications due to SVP and Provost at Noon
  • Foreign Travel Grants due from dean to Faculty Senate office @ noon
  • Final dollar amounts of variable course fees for S20 field trips due to Deb Hearn
  • Term faculty advancement dossiers due from departments to dean's office
  • University Honors seminar proposals due
Tuesday 02/04/20
  • F20 schedule of classes proofs due to Registrar
Monday 02/10/20
  • University Awards Nominations due from dean to SVP and Provost
Friday 02/14/20
  • Course fee worksheets for SS20 & F19 due from faculty to dept. chairs
Friday 02/21/20
  • Course fee worksheets for SS20 and F19 due from dept. chairs to Deb Hearn
Thursday 02/27/20
  • Last date to submit changes to SS20 courses and rooms to Linda and Jean and Mandy before registration
  • Last date to submit changes to F19 courses and rooms to Linda and Jean and Mandy before registration
Friday 02/28/20
  • Term faculty advancement dossiers due from dean to SVP and Provost
Saturday 02/29/20
  • S20 and F19 experimental courses approved by AAC submitted through CIMX
  • Last day to process course fee authorizations for SS20 and F19 through Access Plus
  • Textbook & Supply Adoptions for SS20 and F19 due to University Bookstore
  • Inclusion Initiatives Grant Progam Applications Due at 8:00 a.m. (only those who complete an intent to apply in November)
Monday 03/02/20
  • Post-tenure reviews due from chairs to dean
Saturday 03/07/20
  • Departments MUST elect or appoint their representatives to councils and committees (including shared member or seats they intend to leave vacant)
Thursday 03/19/20
  • Last day to change SS20 course offerings with Registrar before registration begins
  • Last day to change F19 courses with Registrar before registration beings
Wednesday 03/25/20
  • Foreign Travel Grant application due from departments to dean's office
Thursday 03/26/20
  • SS20 course registration begins
  • F19 course registration begins
Monday 03/30/20
  • Preliminary room assignments for SS20 distributed
  • S20 study abroad proposals due to AAC
Wednesday 04/01/20
  • Post-tenure review dossiers due from dean to SVP and Provost
  • Preliminary (third year) reviews of tenure eligible faculty due from chairs to dean
Friday 04/03/20
  • Big 12 Faculty Fellowship Program Applications due to SVP and Provost at Noon
Saturday 04/04/20
  • Foreign Travel Grants due from dean to Faculty Senate office @ noon
  • Changes to SS20 room assignments due to Linda and Jean and Mandy
Thursday 04/09/20
  • Changes to SS20 room assignments due to Room Scheduling
Monday 04/13/20
  • NTE 6 Semester Review completed by departments.
Wednesday 04/29/20
  • S20 study abroad proposals approved by AAC due to Education Abroad Committee
  • Final SS20 room assignments due to Linda and Jean
Thursday 04/30/20
  • Written college council reports of the past year activities due to the Liaison Council to be made available to faculty and staff on college website.
Friday 05/01/20
  • Preliminary (third year) reviews of tenure eligible faculty due from dean to SVP and Provost
Monday 05/04/20
  • S21 original course offerings distributed to departments
Tuesday 05/05/20
  • S20 original course offerings (gray sheets) distributed for review
Saturday 05/09/20
  • Request for FISIP increments for the following fiscal year are due from the colleges to the SVP and Provost
  • Last day to cancel SS 19 Session II courses due to low enrollment.
Friday 05/15/20
  • SS20, 12-week and Session 1 course cancelations due to low enrollment
  • Departments begin approval process for S21 experimental courses
Friday 05/29/20
  • Preliminary room assignments for F20 distributed
  • Corrected S20 gray sheets due to Linda and Jean
Saturday 05/30/20
  • Changes to course titles and descriptions approved by college due to Registrar
Sunday 05/31/20
  • Annual reviews of faculty completed by departments
  • Professional development funding for Term Faculty application due to SVPP
Monday 06/01/20
  • Deadline for approval of new experimental courses for F20 in CIMX
  • Confirmation that all faculty annual performance evaluations are complete due from dean to SVP and Provost
Saturday 06/06/20
  • Changes to preliminary F19 room assignments due to Linda and Jean and Mandy
Wednesday 06/24/20
  • Changes in F20 room assignments due to Room Scheduling @ 4 p.m.
Sunday 06/28/20
  • Women’s and Diversity Grant Program Impact Reports from grant recipient’s due to SVP and Provost
Friday 07/10/20
  • Last day to cancel F20 courses due to low enrollment
  • S21 course offerings due to Registrar
Thursday 07/30/20
  • D-Trak open to chairs for adding % for research, service, buyouts, etc. Changes to courses need to be made by Linda and Jean and Mandy to ensure alignment with ADIN
Wednesday 09/30/20
  • College of Design Lectures Request Forms due to Rachel Moylan, 146 Design
Don't Miss This
CoD Facebook Feed
College Numbers
Dean's Office: 515.294.7428
Administrative Services Office: 515.294.4665
Student Services/Advising: 515.294.6983
Career Services: 515.294.0735
Output/Print Center: 515.294.1774
Computer/Lab Help Line 515.294.1774
Laptop Program Support: 515.294.5841
International Programs: 515.294.8275
Multicultural Liaison: 515.294.9555
IDRO/PLacE Program: 515.294.1790

[Download Current Roster] | [Unit Information]

University Numbers
Student Assistance (non-emergency): 294-1020
Campus Police (non-emergency): 294-4428
Academic Success Center: 294-6624
Accounts Receivable: 294-7388
Office of Equal Opportunity: 294-7612
International Students: 294-1120
Registrar: 294-1840
Student Disability Resources: 294-7220
Student Financial Aid: 294-2223
Health Center: 294-5801
Veterans Center: 294-9801
College News

last 5 entries

ISU students design proposals for new educational center in Iowa Judicial Branch Building

June 3, 2019

Local artists share inside look at studio collections June 7–9 at ISU Design on Main Gallery

May 28, 2019

05/28/19 AMES, IA — In conjunction with the annual Art Walk in downtown Ames, an exhibit exploring the curious collections and work of local artists will be on display June 7–9 at the Iowa State University Design on Main Gallery,…[read more]

ISU researchers awarded NSF grant for August workshop on ‘Redesigning the Rural-Urban Interface along the Mississippi River Watershed’

May 23, 2019

Deadline extended! Those interested in speaking at this two-day workshop are invited to submit position statements by Saturday, June 8.   05/23/19 AMES, Iowa — Three Iowa State University researchers have received a $50,000 National Science Foundation grant for an…[read more]

Katz culminates ISU career with Printfest 2019 at Octagon Center for the Arts

May 15, 2019

05/15/19 AMES, Iowa — Printfest 2019, a celebration of the work of April Katz and her impact on the local, national and international printmaking community, will kick off Thursday, May 30, at the Octagon Center for the Arts. Katz, a Morrill…[read more]

Rico-Gutierrez reappointed as College of Design dean

May 9, 2019

[See all news] | [Share your story]

Research News

last 5 entries

Nationally Competitive Awards Week, April 8-11

April 1, 2019

Next week is the Nationally Competitive Awards Week at ISU!   For the first time, the University Honors Program, the Study Abroad Center, and the Center for Communication Excellence have joined efforts to offer a series of events to inform…[read more]

Research in the Capitol

April 1, 2019

Four College of Design student researchers are among 25 Iowa State students selected to present their work at Research in the Capitol from 11:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m. today, April 1, in the State Capitol rotunda in Des Moines. They include Stuart…[read more]

Friday Research Seminar, April 5th

April 1, 2019

“Canopy as an Architectural ‘Parti,’” Jelena Bogdanovic, associate professor of architecture, 12:10–1 p.m. Friday, April 5, 130 Design. Read more

Architecture Research Exchange Mini-Series

April 1, 2019

“Postwar Skyscrapers from the Inside out: The Role of Lighting in the Development of the ‘Glass Box,’” Tom Leslie, Morrill Professor of architecture; and “Learning from Yugoslavia,” Vladimir Kulic, associate professor of architecture, 12–1 p.m. Wednesday, April 3, 130 Design….[read more]

Big 12 Faculty Fellowship

April 1, 2019

The Big 12 Faculty Fellowship Program offers faculty the opportunity to travel to member institutions, typically for two weeks, to exchange ideas and research. Faculty members may receive up to $2,500 toward transportation, room and board (awards generally will not…[read more]

[See all research news]

College Directory

[College Floor Plans] | [Update your info]




go up