Directory   |   Workday   |   Access+   |   CyBox   |   Privacy Policy

Archived News

ISU College of Design strengthens community college relationships with new bachelor's program transfer agreements

August 24, 2015


(image) AMES, Iowa — New agreements between Iowa State University and two Iowa community colleges will make it easier for students attending those colleges to complete bachelor's degrees at Iowa State.

Through the agreements, students who receive an Associate of Arts degree from Northwest Iowa Community College (NCC), Sheldon, and those who receive AA degrees with an emphasis in political science, psychology or sociology from Western Iowa Tech Community College (WITCC), Sioux City, will be able to transfer to Iowa State to complete a Bachelor of Science in community and regional planning—and to do so in as few as two years.

NCC and WITCC students who participate in the new program will have a clearly defined plan that guides all four years of their undergraduate study. They will know exactly which courses to take at their community college and the recommended sequence to follow to graduate in two years after they transfer to Iowa State. And they will have access to advising at all three institutions to ensure a smooth transition to the bachelor's program.

Signing Ceremonies
Representatives of Iowa State, NCC and WITCC will celebrate the articulation agreements in formal signing ceremonies Monday, Aug. 31:

  • Northwest Iowa Community College, 11 a.m., Building A, Room A122, Sheldon. Park in Lot 1 and enter Building A.
  • Western Iowa Tech Community College, 2 p.m., Board Room A506, Sioux City. Park in Lot 1 and enter through Entrance 1 by the flag poles.

Iowa State University Representation
Luis Rico-Gutierrez, dean, College of Design
Mark Chidister, associate dean for academic programs, College of Design
Francis Owusu, chair, Department of Community and Regional Planning
Abigail Westemeyer, graduate assistant, College of Design Student Services

Northwest Iowa Community College Representation
Aletha Stubbe, president
John Hartog, vice president, Student and Academic Services
Rhonda Pennings, dean, Arts and Sciences, Business and Health
Beth Sibenaller-Woodall, associate dean, Student Services, and registrar
Beth Frankenstein, director, Student Development, Transitions and Secondary Programs
Stephen Gibbons, instructor, Social Sciences

Western Iowa Tech Community College Representation
Terry Murrell, president
Juline Albert, vice president of learning
Darrin Moeller, executive dean of instruction
Ken Tidwell, associate dean, Arts and Sciences

Iowa State has a similar BSCRP agreement with Kirkwood Community College in Cedar Rapids and is working on relationships with additional community colleges in Iowa.

Francis Owusu, Chair, ISU Department of Community and Regional Planning, (515) 294-7769,
Meredith Foley, Graduate Recruitment and Student Services Coordinator, ISU College of Design, (515) 294-0816,
Heather Sauer, Communications Specialist, ISU College of Design, (515) 294-9289,
Kristin Kollbaum, Director of Marketing and Communications, NCC, (712) 324-5066, ext. 105,
Emma Hewitt, Director of Marketing and Publications, WITCC, (712) 274-8733, ext. 1250,