Directory   |   Workday   |   Access+   |   CyBox   |   Privacy Policy

Archived News

ISU College of Design, DMACC to sign new bachelor’s program transfer agreement

March 22, 2016


AMES, Iowa — A new agreement between Iowa State University and Des Moines Area Community College will help students attending DMACC complete professional bachelor's degrees in community and regional planning at Iowa State.

Through the agreement, students who receive an Associate of Arts degree from DMACC and have obtained specific credits during their two years of community college will be able to transfer to Iowa State to complete a Bachelor of Science in community and regional planning—and to do so in as few as two years.

DMACC students who participate in the new program will have a clearly defined plan that guides all four years of their undergraduate study. They will know which courses to take at DMACC and the recommended sequence to follow to graduate in two years after they transfer to Iowa State. And they will have access to advising at both institutions to ensure a smooth transition to the bachelor’s program.
Representatives of Iowa State and DMACC will celebrate the articulation agreement in a formal signing ceremony at 10 a.m. Monday, March 28, in the Building 22 Conference Room on the DMACC Ankeny campus. Directions

Iowa State University Representation
Luis Rico-Gutierrez, dean, College of Design
Cameron Campbell, associate dean for academic programs, College of Design
Francis Owusu, chair, Department of Community and Regional Planning

Des Moines Area Community College Representation
Kim Linduska, executive vice president for academic affairs/provost
Jim Stick, academic dean, Arts and Sciences
Kari Hensen, associate dean, Arts and Sciences
Scott Ocken, academic dean, Industry and Technology
Jenny Foster, associate dean, Industry and Technology
MD Isley, academic dean, Business and Information Technology
Laurie Wolf, chief student services officer

Iowa State has similar BSCRP agreements with Kirkwood Community College, Cedar Rapids; Northwest Iowa Community College, Sheldon; and Western Iowa Technical Community College, Sioux City.

Francis Owusu, Community and Regional Planning, (515) 294-7769,
Jennifer Anderson, Design Marketing/Recruitment, (515) 294-7415,
Heather Sauer, Design Communications, (515) 294-9289,
Laurie Wolf, DMACC Student Services, (515) 965-6437,