Directory   |   Workday   |   Access+   |   CyBox   |   Privacy Policy

Archived News

Students honored in ISU College of Design's 33rd Art and Design Annual Exhibition

November 18, 2013

Karl Schecht won Best in Show for his "Steampunk Bosun Whistle"
Kaitlyn Schafer won first place with her "Container" (clay)


AMES, Iowa — Ten students from Colorado, Iowa and Texas took top honors in the 33rd Art and Design Annual Juried Student Exhibition now on view in Gallery 181 at the Iowa State University College of Design.

The exhibition, which runs through Thursday, Nov. 21, showcases 54 works by 45 Iowa State students majoring in biological/pre-medical illustration, graphic  design, integrated studio arts and psychology. A total of 144 pieces of artwork by 87 students were submitted.

The show was juried by Kate Corman and ISU alumna Heather Johnson. Corman is a senior graphic designer with August Home Publishing in Des Moines and president of AIGA Iowa. Johnson is the executive director of the Octagon Center for the Arts in Ames. She received a bachelor of arts in biological/pre-medical illustration from Iowa State in 2002.

Award recipients were announced at a public reception at the College of Design on Nov. 12. Janice Peterson Anderson Excellence Awards were presented for Best in Show, first, second and third place, and four honorable mentions. Other recognition included two Juror's Choice Awards, the Marck Nystrom Ceramics Award and the Excellence in Textiles Award.

Integrated studio arts senior Karl Schecht, Round Rock, Texas, won Best in Show for his brass, nickel and copper "Steampunk Bosun Whistle."

"Schecht's … intricate metal piece … incorporated a lot of delicate and meticulous craftsmanship—many different gears and parts that featured various surface textures," Johnson said. "The final result was very refined in the details; it was extremely well done."

Other top awards included Kaitlyn Schafer, senior in psychology, Van Meter, Iowa, "Container" (clay), first place; Riley Jones, junior in pre-biological/pre-medical illustration, Loveland, Colo., "Nelsen Stuck on Nelsen" (charcoal), second place; and Anna Ellenberger, junior in graphic design, Iowa City, Iowa, "Christmas Morning" (print and packaging), third place.

Corman presented her Juror's Choice Award to graphic design senior Allyson Miller, Alburnett, Iowa, for her "Point Line Plane Poster Series."

Johnson selected Amelia McMurrin’s oil painting, "The Walk Home," as her Juror's Choice Award. McMurrin is a senior in integrated studio arts from Cedar Falls, Iowa.

The Marck Nystrom Ceramics Award was presented to integrated studio arts senior Kathleen Albright, Burlington, Iowa, for "A Monumental Love Affair."

Honorable mentions were awarded to Ellenberger, "Loose Leaf Tea" (print and packaging); Alison Koebke, Ottumwa, Iowa, "Pure Menu Designs" (print); Sara Madison, Council Bluffs, Iowa, "Falling" (textile); and Emma Parker, Clive, Iowa, "Leaving Our Mark" (lithography monoprint). Madison also received the Excellence in Textiles Award for "Falling."

This year’s Art and Design Annual was coordinated by ISU College of Design faculty members C. Arthur Croyle, April Eisman, Teresa Pascke and Barbara Walton, integrated studio arts; and Bev Krumm and Keo Pierron, graphic design, with assistance from integrated visual arts graduate students Lindsay Nissen, Nick Friess and Earle Rock.

Gallery 181 is located on the first floor of the College of Design building on the west side of the Iowa State University campus. Admission is free. Exhibition hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. The show will close at 5 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 21.

Karl Schecht, Integrated Studio Arts,
C. Arthur Croyle, Integrated Studio Arts, (515) 294-8909,
Heather Sauer, Design Communications, (515) 294-9289,