Directory   |   Workday   |   Access+   |   CyBox   |   Privacy Policy

Department of


Professional Pathways

NAAB Accreditation

Iowa State’s undergraduate Bachelor of Architecture (BArch) and graduate Master of Architecture (MArch) degree programs are both accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit U.S. professional degree programs in architecture.

A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards. ISU’s BArch and MArch programs both earned the maximum eight-year accreditation in 2013 and will be reviewed again in 2021. See 2020 NAAB Conditions for Accreditation and the 2020 NAAB Procedures for Accreditation.

Why does accreditation matter?

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program to become a registered architect.

Accreditation, careers and licensure

View public documents and web resources related to accreditation of the Iowa State University Department of Architecture’s undergraduate and graduate programs.