Department of


About Us

Architecture Facts & Figures

  1. Architecture courses have been offered at Iowa State University since the institution first enrolled students in 1869.
  2. The department has existed under four different names: Structural Design (1914), Architectural Engineering and Rural Structures (1918), Architecture and Architectural Engineering (1940s), and finally, Architecture (1967), all in the College of Engineering.
  3. The Department of Architecture became part of the College of Design when it opened in 1978.

Architecture by the Numbers – Spring 2015

Undergraduate enrollment: 301 (professional program)

Iowa residents: 131
Non-residents (U.S.): 102
International: 68
Students in the Bachelor of Architecture degree program are from 19 states (including Iowa) and 14 foreign countries: Bahamas, China, Ecuador, India, Indonesia, Kuwait, Malaysia, Netherlands, Oman, Puerto Rico, Qatar, South Korea, Sudan, and Vietnam.

Graduate enrollment: 63

Iowa residents: 17
Non-residents (U.S.): 21
International: 25
Students in the architecture graduate program are from 13 states and seven countries in addition to the U.S.: China, Iran, India, Kuwait, Qatar, Romania, and Vietnam.


The Department of Architecture offers more than 30 scholarships and awards totaling more than $80,000 annually to students enrolled in the professional program.