Design Youth Programs

workshops

The College of Design, in conjunction with ISU Extension and Outreach, offers two workshops—Explore Design! and Design Innovation—for middle and high school students entering sixth grade through recent (spring 2015) graduates.

Explore Design! is offered on the Iowa State campus in Ames and will travel to multiple other locations statewide (see below). Design Innovation will be held at Iowa State in Ames.

Explore Design!
Tuesday, June 2 – Harlan (register by Thursday, May 28)
Monday, June 15 – Sioux City (register online by June 8)
Tuesday, June 16 – Okoboji (register online by Tuesday, June 9)
Thursday, June 18 – Postville (registration is full)
Monday, June 29, 2015 – Ames (registration is full)
Wednesday, July 8 – Perry (register online by Wednesday, July 1)
Tuesday, July 14 – Marion (register online by Wednesday, July 7)

This one-day workshop will explore identity, pattern, sculpture and product design using graffiti and typography as precedents. You will work with a wide variety of materials and techniques. Hours are 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Participants should arrive between 8:30 and 9 a.m. A project showcase for friends and family will be from 3:30 to 4 p.m. Fee: $15. All snacks, lunch and materials are provided.

Design Innovation
Metamorphosis
Wednesday-Friday, June 10-12, 2015 – Ames (Register online by Wednesday, June 3)

Moving from photograph to drawing to volumetric form in this three-day workshop, you will discover how one image can inspire an evolution of designs. Using the principles of design, you will work with a variety of materials and techniques, including photography, drawing, collage and assemblage, to establish a narrative. Hours are 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. daily. Participants should arrive between 8:30 and 9 a.m. A project showcase for friends and family will be from 3:30 to 4 p.m. Friday, June 12. Fee: $75. All snacks, meals, materials and local transportation are provided.

Instructors: Jennifer Drinkwater, Bev Krumm, Patience Lueth and Paula Streeter

Registration
Register online via the links from the workshop dates above. (NOTE: Harlan is paper registration only, available through the local County Extension Office.) Special accommodations are available upon request for dietary or accessibility needs.